Stars Of Lake County – February 29, 2020

Nomination Form

Online Nomination Form

Nomination Deadline: January 24, 2020


2019 Stars of Lake County Recipients (Click here to view)

Stars Recipients 1998 to 2018 (click here to view)

Marla Ruzicka Humanitarian Award: Janet Taylor, Lakeport

Senior of the Year: Gene Paleno, Upper Lake

Volunteer of the Year: Ginny Cline, Lakeport [award accepted by her daughter]

Female Student of the Year: Grace Davidson, Kelseyville

Male Student of the Year: Raul Gomez, Clearlake

Youth Advocate Volunteer: Kristin Amparo, Upper Lake

Youth Advocate Professional: Stephanie Figueroa, Clearlake

Organization – Nonprofit: Adventist Health Clear Lake

Organization – Volunteer: Citizens Caring 4 Clearlake

Environmental Award: Kathleen Blair, Cobb

New Business Award: Dusty D Work Wear, Lakeport

Small Business Award: Fresh and Bangin’ Eatery, Lucerne

Large Business Award: Lake County Tribal Health Consortium, Lakeport

Best Idea of the Year: 100+ Women Strong of Lake County

Local Hero Award: Vietnam Veterans, Chapter 951

Joshua Blair Memorial Amateur Arts Award: Tim & Laura Barnes, Lakeport

Arts Award Professional: Sage Abella, Middletown [unable to attend]
Woman of the Year: Janeane Bogner, Clearlake Oaks

Man of the Year: Gary Deas, Lakeport

Lifetime Achievement: Bill Kearney, Kelseyville

Spirit of Lake County: Soroptimist International of Clear Lake

Appetizers by Lake Event Design


2019 Nominees:

1. Marla Ruzicka Humanitarian of the Year
Sponsored by: Cliff & Nancy Ruzicka
  • Melissa Reece, Lake County
  • Mike Smith, Clearlake
2. Senior of the Year

Sponsored by: Adventist Health Clear Lake

  • Beverly Hill, Cobb
3. Volunteer of the Year

Sponsored by: Sutter Lakeside Hospital

  • Michelle Dunia, Clearlake
  • David Rogers, Cobb
  • Pam & Stephan Wasik, Lake County
  • Marie Weathers, Clearlake
4. Student of the Year-Female

Sponsored by: Lake County Office of Education

  • Nicabec Casido, Lakeport
  • Rebecca Harper, Upper Lake
  • Madison Naughton, Clearlake
  • Taelor Roderick, Middletown
5. Student of the Year-Male

Sponsored by: Lake County Office of Education

  • Jose Fernandez III (a.k.a. “Junior”), Upper Lake
  • Richard “Ricky” Pankratz, Clearlake
  • Victor Guzman, Lower Lake
6. Youth Advocate of the Year-Volunteer

Sponsored by: Savings Bank of Lake & Mendocino

  • Konocti Lioness Club, Kelseyville
  • Stephanie Figueroa, Clearlake Oaks
  • Cheri Johnson, Middletown
7. Organization of the Year-Nonprofit (Has Paid Staff)

Sponsored by: NCO, North Coast Opportunities

  • City of Clearlake, Clearlake
8. Organization of the Year-Volunteer (All Volunteer Staff)
Sponsored by: Community First Credit Union
  • Clearlake Rotary Club, Clearlake
  • Team Lake County, Lake County
  • Totes4Teens, Middletown
9. Agriculture Award

Sponsored by: SERVPRO of Lake, Mendocino and Sonoma NE Counties

  • Brenna Sullivan, Lake County
  • Sharron Zoller, Kelseyville
10. Small Business of the Year
Sponsored by: Foods Etc.
  • Konocti Computers, Lakeport
  • Paradise Skate Roller Rink & Arcade, Lakeport
11. Large Business of the Year
Sponsored by: Bruno’s Shop Smart
  • Konocti Vista Casino & Marina, Lakeport
  • Sutter Lakeside Hospital, Lakeport
12. Best Idea of the Year
Sponsored by: West America Bank
  • First Friday Art Walk in Middletown, Middletown
  • Lake County Fairgrounds, CEO Courtny Conkle, Lakeport
13. Local Hero of the Year

Sponsored by: U.S. Congressman Mike Thompson

  • Sarah Fuchs, Clearlake
14. Environmental Award

Sponsored by: Konocti Vista Casino

  • Brad & Kathy Barnwell, Lakeport
15. Joshua Blair Memorial Arts Award-Amateur
Sponsored by: Lake County Theatre Company
  • Richard Schmidt, Lakeport
16. The Arts Award of the Year-Professional
Sponsored by: Strong Financial Network
  • Steve Bilodeau, Kelseyville
  • Bernie & Lynn Butcher, Upper Lake
  • Barbara Clark, Kelseyville
  • Lisa Kaplan, Middletown
  • John Tomlinson, Kelseyville
17. Public Safety Award

Sponsored by: Sheriff Brian Martin

  • Charlie Diener, Kelseyville
  • Todd Dunia, Kelseyville
  • Robert Cummesky, Lake County
  1. Woman of the Year
Sponsored by: North Lake Medical Pharmacy
  • Tammy Alakszay, Lake County
  • Virginia Bautista, Lakeport
  • Teresa Campbell, Lakeport
  • Jaclyn Ley, Lakeport
  • Rose Miskimins, Clearlake
  • Tina Scott, Lakeport
  1. Roland Johnsrud Man of the Year
Sponsored by: Calpine Corporation
  • Russ Cremer, Lower Lake
  • Phil Harris, Clearlake
  • Jim Hickson, Lakeport
  • Mohammad Abid Hussain, Upper Lake
  • Jeremy Zabel, Lakeport
  1. Lifetime Achievement – No Nomination
Spirit of Lake County Award, sponsored by, John Tomkins, is chosen by the Selection Committee from nominations received in other categories.


An individual, organization or business whose contributions to Lake County transcend many of the Stars Awards categories to the extent and scope that the Selection Committee chooses to acknowledge those contributions with this special award.

Thank You 2019 Sponsors

Lake County Record Bee

Konocti Harbor Resort

Cliff & Nancy Ruzicka

Hospice Services of Lake County

Sutter Lakeside Hospital

Lake County Office of Education

Disney Trophies & Awards

SERVPRO of Lake, Mendocino & Sonoma NE

Savings Bank of Mendocino

North Coast Opportunities

Community First Credit Union

Adventist Health Clear Lake

Konocti Vista Casino Resort & Marina

Foods Etc.

Bruno’s Shop Smart

WestAmerica Bank

Mike Thompson, U.S. Congressman

Lake County Theater Company

John Tomkins, Tax Consultants

North Lake Medical Pharmacy

Calpine Corporation

Strong Financial Network

New Members